Boston Red Sox Win Fourth World Series In 15 Years

The Boston Red Sox on Sunday evening clinched their fourth MLB World Series champions title in 15 years.

With the use of the long ball, the Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 5-1 on Sunday at Dodger Stadium, winning the 114th edition of the Fall Classic four games to one.

Steve Pearce hit two home runs for Boston, joining Babe Ruth and Ted Kluszewski as the only players 35 or older to have a multi-homer World Series game. 

Pearce had three home runs and eight RBI in five games. He was named World Series MVP.

Mookie Betts and J.D. Martinez added solo home runs in the sixth and seventh, respectively.

This is the ninth championship for Boston, tying the Red Sox with the Athletics for third most World Series titles of all time. Only the New York Yankees (27) and St. Louis Cardinals (11) have more.

Boston, who last won it all in 2013, has now won four titles since 2004, which was the year the Red Sox broke what was then an 86-year drought between championships.

Boston entered the World Series as the favorite, as the Red Sox were superior all year. They went 22-9-1 in spring training. They won a franchise-record 108 games in the regular season.

The Red Sox also beat two 100-win teams to get to this stage, knocking off the Yankees (100 wins) in the American League Division Series and the defending champion Houston Astros (103 wins) in the American League Championship Series.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content